6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Yorkshire Life today CLICK HERE

Georgia Wilkinson - My Yorkshire weekend

PUBLISHED: 00:00 18 January 2014

Fabric designer Georgia Wilkinson

Fabric designer Georgia Wilkinson

Archant

Fabric designer Georgia Wilkinson weaves a lot into her free time

I have worked hard over the past four years building up my fabric design business and have spent the majority of my weekends slogging away. In fact, it’s only in the last six months that I’ve really had the luxury of weekends off, made all the more special as I’ve recently moved from my family home in Pilmoor, near Helperby, to my own house in Ripon.

Because I’m self-employed, my weekends tend to start and finish at different times each week. When my weekend does begin, however, I like nothing more than relaxing in front of the fire with my dog Tilly and a glass of wine on a Friday evening.

After a very lazy start to the weekend, Saturday tends to be rather more physical. Tilly, a Labrador-collie cross, and I like to get out and enjoy the spectacular Yorkshire countryside with a run or a long walk. One of my favourite routes is around the White Horse at Kilburn; once you’ve tackled the mountain of steps from the car park, the views of the Vale of York are truly worth it.

If I have a whole day free, I head to the coast, especially out of season, to Scarborough or Cayton Bay for a brisk walk along the beach. I find that filling my lungs with salty air and looking out at the endless horizon is the best way to relax and let my mind wander. Having worked up an appetite, a portion of fish and chips on the beach is an absolute must afterwards.

Saturday night is usually spent catching up with friends, either with a home-cooked meal or a few drinks in Ripon.

If I get the chance, I like to pop in to York or Harrogate at the weekend to catch an exhibition or trawl the charity shops for retro ceramics and textiles to add to my collection.

In the summer months I spend most Sunday mornings at the local car boot sales too, taking inspiration for new designs from modern pieces and classic prints from older items, like mid-century coffee pots.

If I’m designing a new fabric collection or have large lampshade orders to fulfil, I spend part of my weekend in my cricket pavilion studio on the family farm at Pilmoor. With luck, my mother cooks a Sunday roast for the family, giving me the perfect opportunity to showcase my new designs.

I grew up in a large, busy, creative household. My brother is an artist blacksmith, his wife is a willow weaver and my mum is a ceramic sculptor; together they are a great sounding board and give some very honest feedback.

Finally, I like to sit down and relax in front of a good film on Sunday evening, but not before I clear my mind by making a to-do list for the week ahead. n

Find out more about Jorja Wilkinson Design at jorjawilkinsondesign.co.uk.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Yorkshire Life